UNILU Established: 2000

University of Lucerne

Frohburgstrasse 3, 6002 Luzern, Switzerland

The University of Lucerne is the youngest university in Switzerland. Its roots stretch back as far as 1600, but it has existed as a modern university only since 2000. The number of students has grown from about 250 in the founding year 2000 to currently around 2.800 students.

  • ‎2,600+
    Total Students
  • Yes
    Financial Aid


The system of study at the University of Lucerne conforms to a pan-European standard in accordance with the Bologna Process model. Studies are arranged according to a three-step system. The bachelor’s degree is awarded after 6 semesters. Students can then acquire a master’s degree after another 3-4 semesters. Subject to achieving the necessary qualification, students can then take up doctoral studies. This system of study has been implemented in all three faculties.

The University of Lucerne has just three faculties and is distinguished by a streamlined and clearly identifiable profile. The three faculties (theology, law, humanities and social sciences) allow the university to focus on three core areas, thereby grouping together its competence in humanities and training law students.

The convenient size of the University of Lucerne provides students with a great degree of freedom and permits innovative subject combinations. Study courses are offered in traditional subjects as well as in overlapping integrated subjects. Students can also combine elements from different faculties. The excellent student support system is a special feature of the University of Lucerne.

General Information

  • Bachelors degree
  • CHF 850 Domestic tuition fee (average per year*)
  • CHF 1,150 International student tuition fee (average per year*)

Programs / Degrees at University of Lucerne

Bachelor's Degrees

  • Theology
  • Distance Learning Theology
  • Religious Education
  • Minor in Ethics
  • Cultural and Social Anthropology
  • History
  • Social and Communication Sciences
  • Jewish Studies
  • Cultural Studies
  • Medicine
  • Philosophy
  • Philosophy, Politics and Economics
  • Political Sciences
  • Study of Religions
  • Sociology
  • Bachelor of Law
  • Minor in Law
  • Economics and Management/li>

Master's Degrees

  • Theology
  • Secondary Education Religion
  • Liturgical Music
  • Religion, Economy and Politics
  • Cultural and Social Anthropology
  • History
  • History Bilingual (German / French)
  • Social and Communication Sciences
  • Master in Health Sciences
  • Jewish Studies
  • Cultural Studies
  • Medicine
  • Philosophy
  • Political Sciences
  • Public Opinion and Survey Methodology
  • Religion, Economics and Politics
  • Study of Religions
  • Sociology
  • World Society and Global Governance
  • Cultural Studies with a Major in Science Studies
  • Master of Law
  • Master of Law, Joint Degree University of Neuchâtel
  • Double Degree (MLaw/LLM)
  • Minor in Law
  • Double Specialisation in Law (KSF Political Economics)
  • Political Economics
  • Economics and Management (from 2019)


  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Economics and Management

Other courses

  • Lucerne Academy for Human Rights Implementation
  • Religious Education

Academic Life

  • Semesters
    Academic calendar

Student Life

  • 201-500
  • Urban
    Campus setting
  • Public
    Control type
  • Non-Profit
  • Religious affiliation

Other Universities in Switzerland